Memory Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

My Grandma (maternal) used to make cabbage rolls for my Dad when I was a kid. My Dad was always so happy when she did! After she passed my mom began making them for him. I had not thought about cabbage rolls in a very long time until I came across this HUGE amazing cabbage at my little local market.

I bought it and brought it home and stared at it for a while thinking…what was I thinking?? This thing is humongous! What am I going to do with it.

Then it hit me…I would make cabbage rolls for my husband! Pretty sure he was not going to be as excited as my Dad was, but all the same he was getting some!

IMG_3107IMG_3085

 

Start with about 12 large cabbage rolls

1 lb of ground beef, turkey raw(or vegetarian you can use morning star or something similar)

1 – 1/2 cups cooked rice

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1 – 15 zo can tomato sauce

1 small can tomato paste

1/2 cup sliced mushrooms

salt, pepper, onion salt to taste

Preheat oven to 350

Remove the center veins from the cabbage leaves by cutting them out in a “V” shape and leaving the leaf whole.  Immerse the leaves, 2-4 at a time, into boiling water for 3-5 minutes, or until limp.  Drain well on a paper towel.

In a mixing bowl combine the meat, rice and seasonings, mushrooms, 1/2 cup of the cheese and 1/4 cup of the tomato sauce mixed with 1/2 can of the paste.

IMG_3105

IMG_3110

Scoop out a large tablespoon or more if your leaves are as HUGE as mine were, into each dry leaf and start by rolling in the sides then roll from one end to the other until all side are “tucked in”.

Use another 1/4 of the tomato sauce to cover the bottom of a 13 x 9 inch pan. then lay the rolled up rolls on top.

IMG_3108

Pour remaining mixture of sauce and paste over the top and sprinkle with the remaining cheese. Cover with foil and bake at 350* for 30 minutes, then uncover and bake for another 15 until done!

IMG_3109

IMG_3112

Let me know if you Dad, Husband , Wife,  Kids etc… like these!

Check out my Beach Body page too! There are only 101 days to Summer as of today March 11th, 2013!!

About yogagoddess08

I'm just a girl in the world... I am a woman, a mother, a daughter, a sister and a wife. I live every day hoping for the best, keeping positive and living each moment to the fullest! This is not a dress rehearsal and you may never get a second chance to live your life to the fullest. Today....be you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memory Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

  1. This looks DELISH!!!! OMG I’m coming over when’s dinner?

Leave a Reply

