Spinach & Tomato Chicken = YUM!

This was a long weekend of helping out some good friends move. We got home Saturday night about 7 pm starving. We found a bag of Gardettos in the car and scarfed it all the way home, but that was just not cutting it!

I had taken a package of chicken out of the freezer the day before  to make on Friday, but that night we went out for Mexican food with out friends, so I knew I needed to cook the chicken. What to do? What to make? HHHHMMM I remembered pinning a recipe for a chicken dish that looked yummy so I pulled it up and sure enough I had most all the ingredients on hand and it didn’t seem to take long:)

As usual though, I HAVE to change things up a bit…either I think I would like something a bit different or I don’t happen to have exactly what it calls for.

In this case I did not have the chicken broth, which a way bad on my part as that is a “must have” usually in my cabinet.  We also tend to like things a bit spicy ’round h ere so I added a diced fresh jalapeño :))

Here is how it turned out!  (Check out the Avocado Hummus)

Spinach chicken served

Ingredients:

2 -4 cups of fresh washed and stemmed spinach

3-4 Chicken breasts or thighs (I personally like thighs better)

4-5 mushrooms sliced

10 cherry tomatoes or 1 large tomato – sliced

1/2 cup white wine

2 TBSP balsamic vinegar

Pink Himalayan sea salt

Pepper

Italian Seasoning

Garlic Seasoning (or minced garlic if you like)

1 diced jalapeño (optional)

1 cup Parmesan cheese

Spinach Chicken Ing 2 Spinach Chicken Ing

Take the freshly washed and dried spinach and place in the bottom of a 9 x 13 glass pan.

Sprinkle it with the wine, balsamic and salt and pepper.

Spinach Chicken Ing 3 Spinach Chicken Ing3

Place the chicken on top of that then mushrooms, tomato, jalapeño, and add all the seasonings.

Spinach Chicken Ing4

Next sprinkle the cheese over it all and “tent” cover with foil. Bake at 375 for 15 minutes then remove the foil and bake for an additional 20 minutes or until chicken is cooked. I broiled for 5 minutes to crunch up the cheese a bit:) (hubby likes it crunchy)

Spinach Chicken Ing5 Spinach Chicken

I served mine over Angel hair pasta. I was amazed at how good this was, however be warned with the jalapeño our lips were happily on fire!

About yogagoddess08

I'm just a girl in the world... I am a woman, a mother, a daughter, a sister and a wife. I live every day hoping for the best, keeping positive and living each moment to the fullest! This is not a dress rehearsal and you may never get a second chance to live your life to the fullest. Today....be you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

