Mash your carb intake and feel better!

The other day while looking through some recipe ideas I came across one for mashed cauliflower. Well I am a girl who loves her veggies (minus green pepper… I do have my limits)

What a concept I thought. I know my dad who is on dialysis can not have potato’s unless my mom soaks them for two hours!  Finding food he can eat (and enjoy!) is not easy for them.  I looked up the nutritional differences in potatoes vs cauliflower. WOW dad can eat these! Can’t wait to tell my mom…but first to make sure they are good!

My thought was to see if my husband noticed the difference….

Mashed Cauli3

Him: Hey babe, whats for dinner? …, me: Mashed potatoes and pork roast with salad:) Him: Yum!

I started with:

  • 1 head of cauliflower steamed
  • 2 tbsp light sour cream
  • dash Himalayan sea salt

Mashed Cauli ing

After steaming the cauliflower, I let it cool for a few minutes then put it in a glass bowl with two tablespoons light sour cream and salt to taste.

I used my handy-dandy hand-held blender and within seconds it was done.

Mashed Cauli

Mashed Cauli2

Heres what I served to my husband.

Mashed Cauli3

I added a sprinkle of cheese on top…

Him: These potatoes taste weird did you put something different in them?

Me: Wellllll, they aren’t really potatoes. It’s actually mashed cauliflower.

Him: Oh…well thats why.

I guess I should have “told” him so he was prepared… I mean who wants to drink milk when you think its water, right?

My real answer came if he liked them or not was when I was putting the leftovers away and I asked him if he wanted any in his lunch for tomorrow or not and he said , “yeah I’ll take some!”

WOOT WOOT!!! Now just hope they taste good to my dad:))

About yogagoddess08

I'm just a girl in the world... I am a woman, a mother, a daughter, a sister and a wife. I live every day hoping for the best, keeping positive and living each moment to the fullest! This is not a dress rehearsal and you may never get a second chance to live your life to the fullest. Today....be you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

