Easy Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cake!

I love everything pumpkin. Well….actually pumpkin pie, is just okay, but muffins, scones, cake …I’m in!

We were having some friends over for a BBQ a few weeks ago and it was also one of their birthdays so I thought a nice “pumpkin” fall kind of cake would be in order. However I was also pretty busy still unpacking and getting the house cleaned so I wanted something fairly uncomplicated so I look around and bit and found this style idea  and then found this easy recipe for cookies and modified it a bit to make it into a cake!

Here’s what I did..

Here are the ingredients I used.

 

1 – Duncan Hines Spice cake mix

1/4 cup oil

1 egg

1 – 15 oz can pumpkin puree

most of the bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips

(This is for each bunt cake; half of the whole pumpkin!)

1 – tub of cream cheese frosting

Blend the cake mix, oil and egg together. Add in the chocolate chips.

Pour into a lightly greased and floured bunt pan and bake at 350* for about 30 min. You need to check it and bake according to your ovens temp.:)

Cool in the pan for about 15 minutes then transfer to a cooling rack. If your like me with only one pan, then you must proceed to the sink, wash your pan and begin the whole process again!

Once both cakes are done and cooled you can use a bread knife to “shave” off the “up” side of the cakes so that when you put them together they look like this!

Two Bundt cakes shaved and put together to form your pumpkin!

 

Do yourself a favor and don’t toss the “shavings” keep them for your morning coffee. It’s like eating delicious muffin tops!

Pumpkin cake "shavings" aka muffin tops!

 

Now your ready to frost! Hopefully you have better luck getting the color right than I did! I could not get it a perfect orange to save my life. I finally gave up and let  “good enough” be good enough!

Finished Cake

 

A little clean up around the cake plate and it was ready to serve.

Let me just say that this cake got RAVE reviews and was so moist and super easy to make! Also if you look at my ingredients it was cheap too:))

About yogagoddess08

I'm just a girl in the world... I am a woman, a mother, a daughter, a sister and a wife. I live every day hoping for the best, keeping positive and living each moment to the fullest! This is not a dress rehearsal and you may never get a second chance to live your life to the fullest. Today....be you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easy Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cake!

  1. I had problems getting a realistic orange too. But good enough is always good enough – as far as I’m concerned, anyway!

Leave a Reply

