Kitchen Re-DO!

When we drove up to this house our real estate agent wasn’t really happy. This was a far cry from what we originally had given  him parameters for. We had however told him that we were open to older homes, fixer uppers as well as brand new. One thing we had discovered is that we really didn’t want to live “in the city” so to speak. I took it upon myself one day to do a little sleuthing (after all its really what I do best!) and came across a few older homes in a smaller area out of the big city and in a smaller more rural area. We had seem them all except these last two. This house was the second to the last. Before we got out of the car my husband said, “This is the one. I can already tell you I want this house.” I was shocked! I knew he would like the special “surprise” in the backyard but I didn’t think he would fall that quickly. He is defiantly a man who knows what he wants though:))

We went inside and the owners were in there. Great! We had a chance to talk to them and ask them questions. They were very nice and she had lived here for ten years. They were getting married and he got a job somewhere further away.

Instantly I loved the front porch. Perfect southern rocking chair porch! Inside reminded me quite a bit of my childhood home so it was comfortable. I liked it. So much potential!

There is so much more to the story …but back to the kitchen. I hated it. Yuck yuck and double yuck!

Before

I knew we had to do something but  total remodel was out of the question financially. We figured we would just try to live with it and do one thing at a time when we could.  I told my husband I had an idea…he said ok go with it… I was scared a bit at first having never done anything like this, but I thought what the heck it really couldn’t look much worse.

I took the cabinets and hardware down and stripped the paint. No easy task let me tell you and I totally suggest biting the bullet and getting gel stripper, rubber gloves, and a good scraper. After I did the best I could… the white paint was a B*#@h! Let me just say. My husband took pity on my poor messed up hands and sore forearms and shoulders from trying to hand sand,  and instead used the electric sander and got them down to the bare wood.

I painted the outside of the cabinets black semi gloss, two coats.

cabinets getting stained

stained the doors with several coats of glossy pecan stain.

We changed the hardware to pulls I found from this great couple on Craigslist, and some handles and hinges from Lowes.

Cabinets

We changed the curtains, moved the newer stove from the guest house inside, replaced the dishwasher with a stainless.  We still need to do the counter tops, floor (we bought black ceramic glossy tile still in the boxes from another thrift store for $40) and get a new fridge, but I am very happy with the results so far for not more than about $150!

About yogagoddess08

I'm just a girl in the world... I am a woman, a mother, a daughter, a sister and a wife. I live every day hoping for the best, keeping positive and living each moment to the fullest! This is not a dress rehearsal and you may never get a second chance to live your life to the fullest. Today....be you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

