From Wall to Mantle

I like to make my weekly ritual “walk by’s” to the local thrift stores. Truly there is nothing around here, no real shopping i.e.; malls etc… there is however a couple of thrift stores within walking distance and truth be told I could not be happier. I would SO much rather thrift than mall anyway! (we do have a hardware store and feed store as well as a little market downtown:)

One day last week I came across this mirror…

Before

It was $1.00 so I bought it.  Sometimes I don’t have a clue what I am going to do with something but sometimes I do..this time I knew. I wanted to make it into a tray.

I took the back off and used my little sanding wedge to rough up the paint a bit. Then I spray painted it glossy white! Simple. I decided it best to have my husband drill the holes for the handles. I used the handles from our kitchen “restore”

Old handles

Spray painted them pewter to go along with the decor. After everything was dry I put the mirror back in added the handles and now we have a new mirrored bottom tray for on top of the mantle to illuminate the candle light!

New Handles

Mantle Top Tray

 

 

 

About yogagoddess08

I'm just a girl in the world... I am a woman, a mother, a daughter, a sister and a wife. I live every day hoping for the best, keeping positive and living each moment to the fullest! This is not a dress rehearsal and you may never get a second chance to live your life to the fullest. Today....be you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

